5th March 1887 --- 17th November 1959

Heitor Villa-Lobos(born 1887, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil--died 1959, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil), Brazilian musician and one of the foremost Latin-American composers of the 20th century, whose music combines indigenous melodic and rhythmic elements with Western classical music from Bach to Puccini.

A cellist in his youth, he began to investigate Brazilian folk and popular music in 1905. Leaving home because his widowed mother opposed a musical career, he became a musical vagabond at the age of 18. He played popular music engagements on the cello and guitar, all the while absorbing Brazilian folk music and incorporating it into his own compositions.

On his return to Rio he enrolled at the Instituto Nacional de Música but soon was off on another journey, this time to North Brazil (Bahia), where he remained for three years, travelling on musical pilgrimages in the Stevenion.

Back in Rio with a large group of manuscripts and an intimate knowledge of Afro-Brazilian music of the districts, he studied Bach, Wagner, Puccini, and other composers whose influence his music was to absorb. A vital boost to his career occurred in 1915, when his music began to be published by the firm of Artur Napoleão. Music poured out of him ceaselessly (about 2,000 works are credited to him in all), and by the time of his first trip to Europe in 1923, he had compiled a long list of compositions in every form.

In 1919, when he was 32, he met the pianist Artur Rubinstein, whose playing of his music throughout the world brought Villa-Lobos increasing recognition.

Villa-Lobos was appointed director of musical education at São Paulo in 1930 and in 1932 took charge of musical education throughout Brazil. He established a conservatory for popular singing (1942) and founded the Brazilian Academy of Music (1945). Between 1944 and 1949 he travelled widely in the U.S. and Europe, where he received many honours and was much in demand as a conductor.

Villa-Lobos wrote operas, ballets, symphonies, concerti, symphonic suites, and solo pieces, in a style that was influenced by Bach, French composers, and Wagner. His style was also suffused with an original use of Brazilian percussion instruments and Brazilian rhythms. One of his most characteristic works is Bachianas brasileiras (1930-44), a set of nine pieces for various instrumental and vocal groups, in which a contrapuntal technique in the manner of Bach is applied to themes of Brazilian origin. A similar series of 14 works, composed between 1920 and 1929, bears the generic title Chôros (a Brazilian country dance). His 12 symphonies (1920-58) are mostly associated with historic events or places. Other works include the symphonic poems Uirapurú (1917), Amazonas (1929), and Dawn in a Tropical Forest (1954), two cello concerti (1915, 1955), Momoprecoce for piano and orchestra, a harp concerto, a concerto for harmonica and orchestra, a concerto for guitar and orchestra (1952), 16 string quartets (1915-55), and Rudepoema for piano solo (1926, orchestrated 1942).

Copyright 1994-1998 Encyclopaedia Britannica

Last Updated on 28th October 2000
By Steven

And now for the Music

(1776) Bendita Sabedoria - No.1: Adagio, sequenced by Jose Marques

(1777)Bendita Sabedoria - No.2: Andantino, sequenced by Jose Marques

(1778)Bendita Sabedoria - No.3: Quasi allegretto, sequenced by Jose Marques

(1779)Bendita Sabedoria - No.4: Allegro, sequenced by Jose Marques

(1780)Bendita Sabedoria - No.5: Andante, sequenced by Jose Marques

(1781)Bendita Sabedoria - No.6: Largo, sequenced by Jose Marques

Some more of brians work, that I sure you will enjoy, to contact Brian please visit his Website here

(1782) Prole do Bebe No.2 Moreninha, sequenced by Brian M. Ames

(1783) Prole do Bebe No.3 Caboclinha, sequenced by Brian M. Ames

(1784) Prole do Bebe No.4 Moreninha, sequenced by Brian M. Ames

(1785) Prole do Bebe No.7 Polichinelo, sequenced by Brian M. Ames

I like to thank Daniel Zalewski for donating the following four files.

(786)"O Trenzinho do Caipira" (toccata from Bachianas Brasileiras nr. 2) Seq by Marcelo A.K Fontana

(787) Bachianas Brasileiras nr. 5, seq by Marcelo A.K Fontana

(788)"Cai, cai, balao" Cirandinhas NO.6. Seq by Marcelo A.K Fontana

(789)"Zangou-se o cravo com a rosa" Cirandinhas No.1. Seq by Marcelo A.K Fontana

(147) Preludio No.1, E Flat for guitar (The first of a sequence of 5 Preludes for Guitar, Info kindly supplied by Uwe Janssen and Mark Geiser) Seq by ?

Carnaval des Criances No.2,(192) Seq by Marcelo A.K Fontana

Danca do Indio Branco,(196) Seq by Marcelo A.K Fontana

(4a) Impressoes Seresteiras Seq by Marcelo A.F.Fontana

(5a) Prole de Bebe No.1, No.2 Moreninha Seq by ?

(345)Suite Populare Bresilienne 1.Mazurka-Choro, kindly donated and seq by Sir Vocalise

This page has been visited .--
online audio mastering service

If your interest's match mine or you would like to send in your Classical style compositions in midi file format then please E-mail me at  

(classical (@) ntlworld . com) please remove all spaces and brackets to get to my email address, fight against spam.

Back to Classical Midi Main Menu click HERE            

eXTReMe Tracker

                                             BACK TO MY HOME PAGE Classical musical home page